Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
An Old Man's Game
Cover of An Old Man's Game
An Old Man's Game
An Amos Parisman Mystery
Borrow Borrow

When a controversial celebrity rabbi drops dead over his matzoh ball soup at the famed Canter's Deli in Los Angeles, retired private eye Amos Parisman— a sixtyish, no-nonsense Jewish detective who lives with his addled wife in Park La Brea—is hired by the temple's board to make sure everything is kosher. As he looks into what seems to be a simple, tragic accident, the ante is raised when more people start to die or disappear, and Amos uncovers a world of treachery and hurt that shakes a large L.A. Jewish community to its core.

When a controversial celebrity rabbi drops dead over his matzoh ball soup at the famed Canter's Deli in Los Angeles, retired private eye Amos Parisman— a sixtyish, no-nonsense Jewish detective who lives with his addled wife in Park La Brea—is hired by the temple's board to make sure everything is kosher. As he looks into what seems to be a simple, tragic accident, the ante is raised when more people start to die or disappear, and Amos uncovers a world of treachery and hurt that shakes a large L.A. Jewish community to its core.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Andy Weinberger is a longtime bookseller who opened Readers' Books in Sonoma, California, with his wife, Lilla Weinberger, in 1991. Born in New York, he grew up in the Los Angeles area and studied poetry and Chinese history at the University of New Mexico. He lives in Sonoma, where Readers' Books continues to thrive. This is his first novel.

Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    December 2, 2019
    Weinberger’s agreeable if flawed first novel and series launch introduces Amos Parisman, an aging Jewish PI in Los Angeles. Amos is retained by the board of an Orthodox synagogue to look into the sudden death of its rabbi, Ezra Diamant, who keeled over during a meal at Canter’s Deli. There’s no evidence of anything other than natural causes, and the cleric was buried without an autopsy. Amos’s suspicions that there may have been foul play are enhanced after someone connected with Diamant is clearly murdered. Amos’s search for a motive for Diamant’s killing leads him to some controversial Friday night sermons Diamant gave that questioned whether the Exodus from Egypt described in the Hebrew Bible ever happened. Some readers may object that the real Canter’s Deli in L.A. is nonkosher and hence not a place an Orthodox rabbi would patronize; more seriously, they may say questioning the Exodus story wouldn’t anger anyone enough to commit murder. Others won’t care. Those seeking more L.A. mysteries with a Jewish theme should check out Joseph Telushkin’s Rabbi Winter series.

  • Booklist

    January 1, 2020
    A celebrity rabbi, known to his flock as "dynamic and charismatic," was alive one second and dead the next, face down in his matzo-ball soup at Canter's Deli in Los Angeles. He was only 53, so members of his temple don't buy the official cause: heart attack. That's why the synagogue president calls on retired PI Amos Parisman, sixtysomething and coot-cranky, to investigate. As with most good detective stories, the real pleasure here is in watching the gumshoe at work. Amos talks about old L.A., dines at the deli, argues about Hamlet with a friend, who never saw the play but guesses "a lot of folks die in it." Others try to dismiss his investigation, telling him murder is "not an old man's game." Another adds, "It's like peeling an onion. When you get to the end you have nothing." But Amos persists and discovers the key in an unexpected place. This is sheer fun, ranking right up there with Daniel Friedman's Buck Schatz series.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

  • Amy Stewart, bestselling author of the Kopp Sisters series, including Girl Waits with Gun.

    "Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he's written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it's a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA's seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don't want another Amos Parisman novel--I want a dozen more!"

  • Cara Black, author of Murder on the Quai and the other Aimée Leduc mysteries.

    "I loved An Old Man's Game. Amos Parisman must return!"

  • John Evans, owner, Diesel Bookstore.

    "Andy Weinberger's An Old Man's Game is a reader's delight. Bringing an old Jewish detective in LA, who doesn't believe in God, out of retirement to investigate the potential murder of a charismatic rabbi is just the start of this funny, charming, moving, and engaging debut mystery. Add him to Michael Connelly, Walter Mosley, and Joe Ide, writers who embrace the underrepresented people of LA, articulate the distortions of power, and cast a light on the darknesses we humans carry within us. Don't miss this new mystery from a skillful new writer."

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Prospect Park Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
An Old Man's Game
An Old Man's Game
An Amos Parisman Mystery
Andy Weinberger
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel